Reflective Essay: In response to “Spring”

18 Jan

In class, we watched the first chapter “Spring” in Kim Ki Duk’s film “Spring, Summer, Fall, Winter, Spring.”

‘Spring’ This was a short story about a boy who learned legend by one event. A boy and a monk lived together in a Buddhist temple, far from the land. One day, boy did tricks to animals (fish, frog, and snake) by wind thread on the live animals and on the other side, he put a rock. A wise monk saw this and punished him by putting a rock on his back, and don’t lose it until he free the animals. Boy went back, but almost all of the animals died.

I had a similar experience with a boy. When I was eight, I got goldfish present from my grandpa. My mom bought me fish food and Korean Bowl to feed them well. I was very thank for these presents so at first days, I fed them very well. I always give 3 fish food to each, everyday. However, as time pass and pass, I kept forgot to give food and if I remember to give food, I gave them too much. One day, the event happened. I had 7 gold-fish but two of them died. Also, it was winter so the bowl is out of balcony, so I keep forgetting. Time passed, and most of goldfish died. When all of the goldfish died, I was so sad, feel sorry to my grandpa and mother, and regret why I didn’t feed them. It was sad, but it was more sad of punishment. The punishment was no pets until I show my parents responsibility. I think I was too young to learn responsibility or respect animals’ being.

I think a boy’s punishment is too harsh because a boy is only 5 or 6 years but teach him by tying heavy rope in his back and show him how the animals died. Sure, the wise monk knew the animals will die, then he should let them to go, but he just put them dying and make a boy to see it and bury them. I think when a boy become older, this way of teaching is good, but he is only 5 to 6 years old, so it is bad. I think my punishment for my wrong action is okay because it is hard to show parents responsibility and while I practice to show responsibility, I have to think carefully always. ‘Spring’ was a good movie to enjoy, and have a good day~!

One Response to “Reflective Essay: In response to “Spring””

  1. Garrioch January 19, 2012 at 2:58 am #

    Interesting comments! I agree that he might be too young, and yes – the monk should have saved the animals. The lesson was a bit harsh.

    As for your fish, I think most kids have problems looking after fish. Unless you have a really good tank, it is inevitable that your fish will eventually die. Do you have any pets now? Unlike dogs, fish can’t bark at you and say “HEY! FEED ME!” Dogs are better pets in my opinion.

Leave a comment